Close Up

img_0857

If you don’t experience some sort of self-consciousness at some point in time, you’re lying. This is me: someone who is more likely to be over-confident than under-confident. So why did I feel the sudden urge to edit this photo before I published it? Personally, I’m a big fan of the Instagram filters but where exactly is the line drawn when it comes to enhancing your attributes or covering them? And more importantly, where do we draw the line when it comes to the way we talk to ourselves? When I first looked at this picture I thought, ‘Oh I look kind of pretty… except those huge pores aren’t very pretty… and neither is the [hardly noticeable] peach fuzz on my nose…’ and then my next thought was ‘WHY THE HELL AM I REBUKING MYSELF FOR BEING HUMAN?!’

Getting up close and personal and liking what you see starts with how you treat yourself, not how other people treat you. And on that note, other people’s opinions of you are none of your business. Your only business is being the best you that you can be, however you see fit. Stop holding yourself to someone else’s standards, you deserve better. You are beautifully and wonderfully made; God made no mistakes when He made you.

Leave a Reply

