My Escape to Bordeaux

Because life in Paris is so hard, right?

Really it’s just that I had a few extra days off after a long work week and decided to run away for a bit to explore some new terrain, and what better than Bordeaux? You’ve heard the name before- maybe seen it on a wine bottle or 50. If you’ve heard of France you’ve heard of Bordeaux since it is, after all, the wine capital of the country. But the last few days I have found there is much more than wine to this city.

I have fallen in love with this place much more than I thought I would. I’d enjoy living here as much as I enjoy living in Paris! The architecture is just as stunning and the food just as good. The flower shops just as dreamy and the churches just as magnificent. But where it is different is where I love it all the more. It is warmer here (it being in the southwest and Paris in the north) and the people are a lot friendlier. Don’t get me wrong- I love Parisians, but think about general city life. No matter what major metropolitan area you are in, the pace is quicker and less forgiving and people are a bit colder a lot of the time. That’s just how it is and Paris is no exception. Bordeaux is not a small city, but it is no where near as big as Paris, so I find the people a lot more patient and friendly.

3 days is plenty to see Bordeaux considering the size but take more time if you can! I’m staying a total of 5 days and it is so nice to leisurely live moment to moment without an agenda. I came on a really tight budget and I have had a wonderful time but there is of course a luxurious side of Bordeaux that I’m sure is way more dreamy than what I’ve done; but I am me, and I enjoy couch surfing as much as I enjoy staying in a luxury hotel. I’m also here during off season- there doesn’t seem to be many tourists at all and it was very cold the first 2 days, then the temperature rose the last 2 days and it’s been absolutely beautiful. Also- be ready to practice your French a ton. In Paris you can count on pretty much everyone speaking English but when you start moving around elsewhere it’s a bit more of a challenge.

I can’t wait to come back here one day in the far future when it’s nice and sunny (I’m a little bitter because I got stuck in the rain yesterday without an umbrella). All in all, Bordeaux is wonderful. When visiting, your list should consist of taking lots of photos as you walk, renting a bike for a day, visiting the little gardens and parks, and drinking wine all the while. I am so happy that I was able to take time away to come here. More pictures to come!

img_1553img_1543img_1526img_1514img_1539img_1494

img_1589img_1499img_1516img_1518img_1484img_1478img_1495img_1472img_1458img_1465img_1485img_1489img_1501img_1493img_1483img_1541img_1538img_1524img_1554img_1567img_1542img_1546img_1547img_1545IMG_1582.jpgimg_1581img_1521img_1560img_1548img_1570img_1574img_1561img_1468

Leave a Reply

